The Technik Museum Sinsheim is open daily from 9 a.m. and can be experienced in most areas without a mouth and nose mask. Please note our Corona protective measures and rules for your museum visit. We look forward to you!

Mercedes Simplex 40/45

The Mercedes Simplex was of decisive significance for the automobile as we know it today. It was the first car with front engine and rear wheel drive, radiator, pedals and steering wheel. Dubstantial contributions to the development of this car were made by Wilhelm Maybach. Its price was immense, 40,000 goldmarks. In relation to this, a Mercedes of the top class would have to cost two million Euros these days.

The Simplex-series was developed from the Mercedes 35 hp, the very first Mercedes. The name "Mercedes" was coined in 1901 by Emile Jellinek, who was the French general importer of Daimler at that time. Since the trade-name "Daimler" sounded unoleasant when pronounced in French he changed it to "Mercedes", the name of his daughter. Later on, this trade-name was adopted by Daimler.

The Simplex from 1905 on exhibit in the Technik Museum Sinsheim is powered by a 6.8 liter 4-cylinder engine with 45 hp. In was acquired first hand from the chauffeur of the Anhäusser-Busch family, the most famous brewery dynasty of America. The family had donated the car to their chauffeur after retirement.

Das Technik Museum Sinsheim hat täglich ab 9 Uhr für Sie geöffnet. Bitte beachten Sie unsere Corona-Schutzmaßnahmen und Verhaltensregeln. Wir freuen uns auf Ihren Besuch!

Mercedes Simplex 40/45

Der Mercedes Simplex war für die Entwicklung des Automobils, wie wir es heute kennen, von ganz entscheidender Bedeutung. Er war der erste Wagen mit vorne liegendem Motor und Hinterradantrieb, Kühler, Pedalen und Lenkrad. Wilhelm Maybach hat entscheidend am Entwurf dieses Autor mitgewirkt. Sein Preis betrug ungeheure 40.000 Goldmark. In Relation hierzu müsste ein Mercedes der Oberklasse heute zwei Millionen Euro kosten.

Die Simplex-Baureihe wurde aus dem Mercedes 35 PS entwickelt, dem ersten Mercedes überhaupt. Der Name "Mercedes" wurde 1901 vom damaligen französischen Daimler-General-importeur Emile Jellinek geprägt. Da die Markenbezeichnung "Daimler" in der französischen Aussprache unschön klang, änderte er sie in "Mercedes", den Namen seiner Tochter. Später wurde dieser Markenname von Daimler übernommen.

Der im Technik Museum Sinsheim gezeigte Simplex von 1905 wird von einem 6,8 Liter 4-Zylinder-Motor mit 45 PS angetrieben. Er wurde ursprünglich aus erster Hand vom Fahrer der Familie Anhäusser-Busch, der bekanntesten Brauerei-Dynastie Amerikas, erworben. Die Familie hatte das Fahrzeug dem Fahrer nach der Pensionierung überlassen.