The Technik Museum Sinsheim is open daily from 9 a.m. and can be experienced in most areas without a mouth and nose mask. Please note our Corona protective measures and rules for your museum visit. We look forward to you!

Rabag-Bugatti

The vehicles of Ettore Bugatti are among the great legends of automobile history. From the middle of the 1920s until the start of the Second World War, the race cars with the typical horseshoe grill and the light blue paintwork built in Molsheim in Alsace won countless racing victories and thus founded the myth of the brand, which still lives on today as part of the VW Group. What is by and large forgotten, however, is that the small German automobile company Rabag at one time built around 100 Bugatti vehicles under license. The only known example of this Rabag Bugatti can now be viewed in the Technik Museum Sinsheim, perfectly restored alongside three original Bugattis.

The car was produced, at least in part, only about 50 km away from the Technik Museum Sinsheim, in Mannheim. Rheinische Automobilbau AG, referred to as "Rabag" for short, was founded in 1920 as the automobile division of the Funke tool factory in Düsseldorf, but just one year later, Mannheim-based Automobil AG, the automobile division of Union Maschinenfabrik, was integrated into the company. As far as is known, the Düsseldorf part of the company produced the engines, while the Mannheim part was responsible for construction of the bodywork.

The Bugatti models 22 and 23, for which they had acquired a licence from Ettore Bugatti, served as a basis for the engines and the chassis. The superstructures were partly self-constructed, but again here, sometimes the Bugatti design was adopted largely unchanged. The latter is true for the example on display in the museum, because it resembles its role model so much, that without the "RABAG Lic. BUGATTI" emblem affixed on top on the radiator, it can hardly be distinguished from an original Bugatti. In terms of drive, it has a 4-cylinder in-line engine with 1455 cc displacement and 25 hp engine power. The top speed is around 95 km/h.

The production figures at Rabag were very low. Only around 100 Rabag-Bugattis were built between 1922 and 1926. Apart from the one now on display in the Technik Museum Sinsheim, no other example is known about, neither in any museum nor in any private collection. It is therefore presumably the only Rabag car that has lasted to this day.

Das Technik Museum Sinsheim hat täglich ab 9 Uhr geöffnet und kann in den meisten Bereichen ohne Mund- und Nasenmaske erlebt werden. Bitte beachten Sie unsere Corona Schutzmaßnahmen und -regeln für Ihren Museumsbesuch. Wir freuen uns auf Sie!

Rabag-Bugatti

Die Fahrzeuge von Ettore Bugatti gehören zu den größten Legenden der Automobilgeschichte. Von Mitte der 1920er Jahre bis zum Beginn des 2. Weltkriegs errangen die in Molsheim im Elsass gebauten Rennwagen mit dem typischen Hufeisengrill und der hellblauen Lackierung zahllose Rennsiege und begründeten so den Mythos der Marke, die noch heute als Teil des VW-Konzerns weiterlebt. Weitgehend vergessen ist dagegen, dass die kleine deutsche Autofirma Rabag einstmals ca. 100 Bugatti-Fahrzeuge in Lizenz baute. Das einzige noch bekannte Exemplar dieser Rabag-Bugattis kann jetzt perfekt restauriert neben drei Original-Bugattis im Technik Museum Sinsheim besichtigt werden.

Entstanden ist der Wagen, zumindest teilweise, nur ca. 50 km vom Technik Museum Sinsheim entfernt, und zwar in Mannheim. Gegründet wurde die kurz als „Rabag“ bezeichnete Rheinische Automobilbau AG zwar 1920 als Automobilabteilung der Werkzeugfabrik Funke in Düsseldorf, bereits ein Jahr später wurde aber die in Mannheim ansässige Automobil AG, die Automobilabteilung der Union Maschinenfabrik, in das Unternehmen eingegliedert. Soweit bekannt produzierte der Düsseldorfer Teil der Firma die Motoren, während der Mannheimer Teil für den Karosseriebau zuständig war.

Als Grundlage für die Motoren und das Fahrwerk dienten die Bugatti-Typen 22 und 23, für die man von Ettore Bugatti eine Lizenz erworben hatte. Die Aufbauten waren teilweise Eigenkonstruktionen, zum Teil wurde aber auch hier das Bugatti-Design weitgehend unverändert übernommen. Für das im Museum ausgestellte Exemplar gilt letzteres, denn es gleicht dem Vorbild so sehr, dass es ohne das oben am Kühler angebrachte Emblem „RABAG Lic. BUGATTI“ kaum von einem Original-Bugatti zu unterscheiden ist. Als Antrieb dient ein 4-Zylinder-Reihenmotor mit 1455 cm3 Hubraum und einer Leistung von 25 PS. Die Spitzengeschwindigkeit liegt bei ca. 95 km/h.

Die Produktionszahlen bei Rabag waren sehr gering. Zwischen 1922 und 1926 wurden nur ca. 100 Rabag-Bugattis gebaut. Außer dem jetzt im Technik Museum Sinsheim gezeigten Exemplar ist kein weiteres bekannt, weder in einem Museum noch in Privatbesitz. Vermutlich handelt es sich somit um das einzige Rabag-Automobil, das die Zeit bis heute überdauert hat.