AUTO & TECHNIK
MUSEUM SINSHEIM

Tupolev TU-144

In the 1960s the designers of the British / French Concorde and the Russian Tupolev TU-144 were competing for the feat to beat the other team in bringing the first supersonic passenger plane into the air. In 1965 at the latest, when the Russians had presented the model of a supersonic passenger plane at the Salon de l‘Aeronautique in Paris, it was clear that they would not relinquish this prestigious title to their Western competitors without putting up a fight. And, as a matter of fact, in the end they were ahead by a nose. On 31 December 1968 the first prototype of the Tupolev 144 was rising into the skies. The “Concorde“ did not follow until 2 March 1969. The immense likeness of the Tu-144 to the “Concorde“ naturally gave rise to the suspicion of industrial espionage, but ultimately it was impossible to prove this conjecture.

The roll-out of the nearly finished airplane took place on 21 May 1970 at Scheremetjewo airfield in Moscow. Five days later, with a speed of 2,150 km/h, it was the first passenger plane of the world to reach Mach 2. At its first appearance in the West one year later on occasion of the 1977 aeronautic exhibition in Paris, the Tu-144 had already reached a top speed of 2,433 km/h in test flights. However, the project suffered a first severe set-back in 1973 when a Tu-144 crashed at the Paris Air Show in front of filming cameras. After several years of further development the Tu-144 finally commenced scheduled service, after all, on the route between Moscow and Alma Ata. Seven months later, however, these flights were discontinued again following another crash. The lack of profitability might have been another factor contributing to this decision. The last regular flight of a Tu-144 took place on 1 June 1978.

The transport into the Technik Museum Sinsheim

After lengthy negotiations the museum club succeeded in acquiring a specimen of this type of plane, which had made an important chapter of aeronautic history, for the airplane exhibition in Sinsheim on occasion of the museum‘s 20th Anniversary. In a sensational transport covering a distance of over 4,000 km from Moscow to Sinsheim, which attracted lively response all over Europe, the Tupolev was brought by water and over land to the museum‘s premises where it was mounted on three steel pillars in take-off position above the roof of exhibition hall 1 of the Technik Museum Sinsheim.

The selected language is not available. What you want to do?

Mit Klick auf [OK] öffnet sich die Website des Technik Museum Speyer in einem neuen Fenster.
Bitte beachten Sie, dass das Technik Museum Speyer etwa 35 Kilometer von Sinsheim entfernt liegt und ein separates Museum ist.

AUTO & TECHNIK
MUSEUM SINSHEIM

Tupolev TU-144

In den 1960er Jahren wetteiferten die Konstrukteure der britisch / französischen Concorde und der russischen Tupolev TU-144 darum, wer als erster ein Überschall-Verkehrsflugzeug in die Luft bringen würde. Spätestens nachdem die Russen 1965 auf dem Salon de l‘Aéronautique in Paris das Modell eines Überschall-Passagierflugzeugs gezeigt hatten war klar, dass sie diesen prestigeträchtigen Titel ihren westlichen Kollegen nicht kampflos überlassen würden. Und tatsächlich hatten sie am Schluss die Nase vorn. Am 31. Dezember 1968 erhob sich der erste Prototyp der Tupolev TU-144 in den Himmel. Die Concorde folgte erst am 2. März 1969. Die große Ähnlichkeit zwischen der TU-144 und der Concorde ließ naturgemäß den Verdacht der Industriespionage aufkommen, letztlich konnte diese Vermutung aber nicht bewiesen werden.

Das roll-out des weitgehend fertig entwickelten Flugzeugs erfolgte am 21. Mai 1970 auf dem Moskauer Flugplatz Scheremetjewo. Fünf Tage später erreichte es mit 2.150 km/h als erstes Verkehrsflugzeug der Welt Mach 2. Als die TU-144 ein Jahr später auf dem Luftfahrtsalon 1971 in Paris zum ersten Mal im Westen erschien, hatte sie bei Übungsflügen bereits eine Spitzengeschwindigkeit von 2.443 km/h erreicht. Den ersten schweren Rückschlag erlebte das Projekt allerdings 1973, als eine TU-144 bei der Pariser Luftfahrtausstellung vor laufenden Kameras abstürzte. Nach mehrjährigen Weiterentwicklungen nahm die Tupolev TU-144 am 1. November 1977 schließlich trotzdem den Liniendienst zwischen Moskau und Alma Ata auf. Nur sieben Monate später wurden diese Flüge nach einem erneuten Absturz jedoch wieder eingestellt. Auch die mangelnde Wirtschaftlichkeit mag zu dieser Entscheidung beigetragen haben. Der letzte reguläre Flug einer TU-144 erfolgte am 1. Juni 1978.

Der Transport in das Technik Museum Sinsheim

Nach langwierigen Verhandlungen ist es dem Museumsverein zum 20-jährigen Museumsjubiläum 2001 gelungen, ein Exemplar dieses Flugzeugtyps, der ein wichtiges Kapitel Luftfahrtgeschichte geschrieben hat, für die Flugzeugausstellung in Sinsheim zu erhalten. In einem Aufsehen erregenden Transport, der über 4.000 km von Moskau nach Sinsheim führte und europaweit ein riesiges Echo gefunden hat, wurde die Tupolev TU-144 auf dem Wasser- und Landwege zum Museumsgelände transportiert, und anschließend in Startposition über dem Dach der Halle 1 auf drei Stahlstützen montiert.

The selected language is not available. What you want to do?

Mit Klick auf [OK] öffnet sich die Website des Technik Museum Speyer in einem neuen Fenster.
Bitte beachten Sie, dass das Technik Museum Speyer etwa 35 Kilometer von Sinsheim entfernt liegt und ein separates Museum ist.