DeLorean DMC-12

John DeLorean's dream was "to develop and build a car that is safe and reliable, has good roadability, is fun to drive and is unmistakably elegant in its appearance." The development phase turned out to be difficult, but he finally found a partner in Lotus, who developed the Delorean DMC-12 in only two years. This resulted in some teething troubles, which in turn resulted in costly repairs for the company. It was a unique "sports car": with over a tonne in weight and only 132 hp, it lagged far behind competitors such as the Chevrolet Corvette or the European Ferraris.

In March 1981, serial production of this classic began in Dunmurry, Northern Ireland, and its body, made of unpainted stainless steel, is still unique today. Initial sales went very well, but in 1982 they declined dramatically and forced DeLorean to look for financial support – unfortunately without success. In 1983, DeLorean Motor Company Ltd. had to file for bankruptcy. Between 1981 and 1983, it produced about 8600 cars, and a particularly well-preserved one of these can still be seen at the Technik Museum Sinsheim today.

The DeLorean DMC-12 in pop culture
The DeLorean became legendary as a time machine in the science fiction trilogy "Back to the Future", where it was the third leading actor alongside Michael J. Fox and Christopher Lloyd. The vehicle achieved cult status and became pretty much the epitome of 80s pop culture, and the dream car of all men over 30. As a result, DeLoreans repeatedly made "guest appearances" in numerous other Hollywood productions, TV shows and music videos. Currently, a DeLorean DMC-12 can be seen in the new Steven Spielberg film Ready Player One, which can be viewed in the IMAX 3D cinema of the Technik Museum Sinsheim in ultra-sharp 4K resolution on Germany's largest IMAX screen.

DeLorean DMC-12

"Ein Auto zu entwickeln und zu bauen, das sicher und zuverlässig ist, gute Fahreigenschaften aufweist, viel Spass beim Fahren macht und unverwechselbar elegant in seiner Erscheinung ist." - Dies war der Traum von John DeLorean. Die Entwicklungsphase gestaltete sich schwierig, letztendlich fand er mit Lotus einen Kooperationspartner, der den Delorean DMC-12 in nur zwei Jahren entwickelte. Dies hatte zur Folge, dass einige Kinderkrankheiten entstanden, die in der Folge mit kostspieligen Nachbesserungen für die Firma verbunden waren. Er war ein sonderbarer "Sportwagen": Mit über einer Tonne Gewicht und nur 132 PS Leistung lag er weit hinter den damaligen Konkurrenten wie Chevrolet Corvette oder den europäischen Ferraris.

Im März 1981 begann im nordirischen Dunmurry die Serienproduktion dieses Klassikers, dessen Karosserie aus rostfreiem, unlackiertem Edelstahl bis heute einmalig ist. Die anfänglichen Verkäufe liefen sehr gut, 1982 jedoch gingen diese drastisch zurück und zwangen DeLorean nach finanzieller Unterstützung zu suchen - leider erfolglos. 1983 musste die DeLorean Motor Company Ltd. den Konkurs anmelden - sie produzierte zwischen 1981 und 1983 ungefähr 8600 Automobile von denen heute noch ein besonders gut erhaltenes Exemplar im Technik Museum Sinsheim zu sehen ist.

Der DeLorean DMC-12 in der Popkultur
Zur Legende wurde der DeLorean als Zeitmaschine in der Science-Fiction-Trilogie "Zurück in die Zukunft", wo er neben Michael J. Fox und Christopher Lloyd der dritte Hauptdarsteller war. Das Fahrzeug erlangte Kultstatus und wurde quasi zum Inbegriff der 80er-Jahre Popkultur und zum Traumauto aller Ü30-Männer. In der Folge hatten DeLoreans immer wieder "Gastauftritte" in zahlreichen weiteren Hollywood-Produktionen, TV-Shows und Musikvideos. Aktuell ist ein DeLorean DMC-12 im neuen Steven Spielberg Film Ready Player One zu sehen, welcher ab 5. April 2018 im IMAX 3D Kino des Technik Museum Sinsheim in ultrascharfem 4K auf Deutschlands größter IMAX-Leinwand erlebt werden kann.