The Technik Museum Sinsheim is open daily from 9 a.m. and can be experienced in most areas without a mouth and nose mask. Please note our Corona protective measures and rules for your museum visit. We look forward to you!

Funny Car Jet-Dragster

“Funny Cars” are vehicles characterized by having a single piece tilt-up fiberglass or carbon fiber automotive body. Jet dragsters are vehicles usually equipped with former jet fighter engines competing for the fastest acceleration. In Germany, they can mostly only admired as show cars.

The jet dragster shown here features a Westinghouse/Rolls-Royce J-34 WE 36 jet engine with afterburner usually used in jet fighters of the US marines. At 100 % power, it covers the quarter mile in 6.9 seconds with a top speed of 420 km/h.

Das Technik Museum Sinsheim und IMAX 3D Kino hat täglich ab 9 Uhr geöffnet und kann in den meisten Bereichen ohne Mund- und Nasenmaske erlebt werden. Bitte beachten Sie unsere Corona Schutzmaßnahmen und -regeln für Ihren Museumsbesuch. Wir freuen uns auf Sie!

Funny Car Jet-Dragster

Als „Funny Car“ werden Fahrzeuge mit einer einteiligen Kunststoff- oder Carbon-Karosserie, die komplett aufklappbar ist, bezeichnet. Bei Jet-Dragster handelt sich meist um Fahrzeuge mit Ex-Kampfjet-Triebwerken, die auf die Jagd nach der Zeit gehen. In Europa fast nur als Show-Fahrzeuge zu bewundern.

Der hier gezeigte Jet-Dragster hat ein Westinghouse/Rolls Royce J-34 WE 36 Triebwerk mit Nachbrenner verbaut, eingesetzt in Kampfflugzeugen der US Marines. Bei 100 % Turbinenleistung erreicht dieser auf der Viertelmeile 420 km/h in 6,9 Sekunden.