The Technik Museum Sinsheim is open daily from 9 a.m. and can be experienced in most areas without a mouth and nose mask. Please note our Corona protective measures and rules for your museum visit. We look forward to you!

Indian Power Plus

For many decades Indian was one of the most famous brands which was copied by many American and European manufacturers. The history of this legendary motorbike company began in 1900, when the two former racing cyclists Hendee and Hedstrom joined forces to develop a motorcycle together. The first prototype already, that was presented in 1901, stood out by the conspicuous red paintwork which, later on, was to become the trademark of Indian-motorbikes. The second characteristic feature, the extremely acute-angled engine of but 42°, was first introduced in the year 1907.

Indian models belonged to the most successful motorbikes in the early stage of motorization in America and in Europe. This was not least due to the victories in races that they succeeded in winning, among other events also in the Tourist Trophy in the Isle of Man. While 20,000 units were built in 1912, the production number had increased to 60,000 by 1914.

Indian experienced a further heyday following WWI and, for decades, remained one of the most serious competitors of Harley-Davidson. Like for many other manufacturers, their end then came in the 1950s. Production was discontinued in 1953 when the new models failed to keep their share of the market. The „Power Plus“ motorbike plus sidecar shown here is from 1917. The side-car, an in-house design made of wood, was built in 1925. The drive was a typical Indian V-engine with 1,000 ccm and 18 hp.

Das Technik Museum Sinsheim und IMAX 3D Kino hat täglich ab 9 Uhr geöffnet und kann in den meisten Bereichen ohne Mund- und Nasenmaske erlebt werden. Bitte beachten Sie unsere Corona Schutzmaßnahmen und -regeln für Ihren Museumsbesuch. Wir freuen uns auf Sie!

Indian Power Plus Gespann

Über viele Jahrzehnte war Indian eine der berühmtesten Marken, die von vielen amerikanischen und europäischen Herstellern kopiert wurde. Die Geschichte dieser legendären Motorradfirma begann im Jahr 1900, als sich die beiden ehemaligen Radrennfahrer Hendee und Hedstrom zusammentaten um gemeinsam ein Motorfahrrad zu entwickeln. Schon der erste, im Jahr 1901 vorgestellte Prototyp besaß die auffällige rote Lackierung, die später zum Markenzeichen der Indian-Motorräder werden sollte. Das zweite charakteristische Merkmal, der mit nur 42° extrem spitzwinklige V-Motor, erschien erstmals im Jahr 1907.

Die Indian-Modelle gehörten zu den erfolgreichsten Motorrädern in der Frühphase der Motorisierung, und zwar nicht nur in Amerika, sondern auch in Europa. Hierzu haben nicht zuletzt die Rennerfolge beigetragen, die sie u. a. bei der Tourist Trophy auf der Isle of Man erringen konnten. 1912 wurden 20 000 Einheiten gefertigt, 1914 waren es bereits 60 000.

Nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg erlebte Indian eine weitere Blütezeit und blieb über Jahrzehnte einer der wichtigsten Konkurrenten von Harley-Davidson. Das Ende kam dann wie für viele andere Hersteller in den 1950er Jahren. Im Jahr 1953 wurde die Produktion eingestellt, nachdem sich die neuen Modelle am Markt nicht mehr behaupten konnten. Das gezeigte „Power Plus“-Gespann stammt aus dem Jahr 1917. Der Seitenwagen, ein Eigenbau aus Holz, entstand um 1925. Als Antrieb dient ein typischer Indian-V-Motor mit 1.000 ccm und 18 PS.