The Technik Museum Sinsheim is open daily from 9 a.m. and can be experienced in most areas without a mouth and nose mask. Please note our Corona protective measures and rules for your museum visit. We look forward to you!

Sopur handbike

The kinds of world records out there never cease to amaze. Dr Thomas Lange from Berlin is confined to a wheelchair due to mobility issues. He achieved a world record in the USA on a handbike, which he has given to the Technik Museum Sinsheim on long-term loan.

He used the Shark S FMG bike on display in the Museum to cover a distance of 648 kilometres during the 24-hour race at Sebring in Florida. This enabled him to reach a new world record for arm-powered bicycles. The distance is roughly equivalent to that between Berlin and Sinsheim. He even left experienced cyclists behind with this incredible mileage. Dr Lange's sporting achievement was ultimately included in the Guinness Book of Records.

The exhibit on display is known as a handbike. This 3-wheeled piece of sports equipment is a high-tech bike powered by both arms via a crank mechanism. Its high continuous speeds and a marked training benefit for the upper body muscles are distinguishing features. Handbike competitions take place almost every weekend around the world as part of various race series.

Das Technik Museum Sinsheim und IMAX 3D Kino hat täglich ab 9 Uhr geöffnet und kann in den meisten Bereichen ohne Mund- und Nasenmaske erlebt werden. Bitte beachten Sie unsere Corona Schutzmaßnahmen und -regeln für Ihren Museumsbesuch. Wir freuen uns auf Sie!

Sopur Handbike

Man staunt immer wieder was es an Weltrekorden so alles gibt. Der aufgrund seiner Gehbehinderung auf einen Rollstuhl angewiesene Dr. Thomas Lange aus Berlin übergab dem Technik Museum Sinsheim sein Sopur Handbike, mit dem er in den USA einen Weltrekord fuhr, als Dauerleihgabe mit.

Mit dem im Museum gezeigten Rad vom Typ Shark S FMG fuhr er beim 24-Stunden Rennen von Sebring in Florida eine Streckendistanz von 648 Kilometern. Damit erreichte er einen neuen Weltrekord für armgetriebene Fahrräder. Die Strecke entspricht ungefähr der Entfernung Berlin - Sinsheim. Mit dieser unglaublichen Kilometerleistung ließ er sogar erfahrene Radrennfahrer hinter sich. Die sportliche Höchstleistung von Dr. Lange wurde anschließend im Guinness Buch der Rekorde eingetragen.

Bei dem Ausstellungsstück handelt es sich um ein so genanntes Handbike. Dieses Sportgerät mit 3 Rädern ist ein Hightech-Fahrrad, welches über einen Kurbelmechanismus mit beiden Armen angetrieben wird. Hohe Dauergeschwindigkeiten und ein ausgeprägter Trainingseffekt auf die Oberkörpermuskulatur sind die kennzeichnenden Merkmale. In verschiedenen Rennserien finden weltweit fast an jedem Wochenende Handbike-Wettkämpfe statt.